Symphonic Metal: New ‘Noise’ From Nightwish

Symphonic metal titans Nightwish have released the first new single to their upcoming album. ‘Noise’ is quite obviously a commentary on modern society and, while I find it a touch pretentious, it’s a pretty good track.

Sorta reminds me how Imaginaerum would sound if it had Floor Jansen on vocals rather than Anette Olzon.

Oh, speaking of pretentious, the title of Nightwish’s ninth album is Hvman. :II: Natvre.. I’m not saying I’m not excited, because any new Nightwish release is worthy to me, but, come on. I can’t just ignore something like that.

01. Music
02. Noise
03. Shoemaker
04. Harvest
05. Pan
06. How’s the Heart?
07. Procession
08. Tribal
09. Endlessness

The album will be released on 10 April. If the rest of it sounds as good as this single, it’ll be a powerhouse!

If you want to be notified every time PowerThorn publishes a review or article, you can subscribe to the blog or go like the >>Facebook Page<<!
For all the same (but mostly memes), >>@PowerThorn<< on Instagram is exactly what you need.

Stay Metal \m/

Six Metal Projects You Might Not Know Featuring Artists You Probably Do Know

If you’re anything like me, you want to know everything about your favourite artists.

This list won’t do that for you, but it’ll hopefully give you a few useful nuggets of metal information!

Hell in the Club – Davide Moras (Elvenking)

Elvenking’s Damnagoras (Davide Moras) lends his iconic high voice to the sex-booze-and-rock-and-roll rhythm that is Hell In The Club. The Italian heavy metal/hard rock band saw its genesis in 2009 under the leadership of bassist Andrea Buratto (Secret Sphere), and released its first album, Let The Games Begin, in January 2011.

Relying on heavy classic rock riffs, catchy-as-hell melodies, and colourful arrangements, they have understandably garnered praise and high reviews by everyone who has heard them. The quality of the music has only increased through the years, with their fourth and latest album See You On The Dark Side being even better than the last.

Hell In The Club is currently signed with Frontier Records and they continue to remain very active.

HITC – Shadow Of The Monster (Scarlet Records)

Wardrum – Yannis Papadopoulos (Beast in Black)

Anton Kabanen’s Beast in Black became an instant hit upon its debut album Berserker back in 2017, and with it, incredible lead vocalist Yannis Papadopoulos has produced one of the most iconic voices in recent metal. His origins, however, are far less known.

In fact, mostly unknown outside of Greece, heavy-metal-hardhitters Wardrum are nothing short of fucking awesome. The production quality is fairly lo-fi, but you’ll hardly notice because the music itself is phenomenal. It’s full of technical riffs and mournful choruses. By their most recent album, Awakening, each bandmember makes it known that they don’t screw around.

In their earlier work, the vocals were often dual-part harmonies, but they gradually moved away from that and stuck with Yannis’ voice being the main attraction, with vocal backups being less pronounced. Yannis’ versatility and astounding ability is evident in Wardrum’s second and third albums, but it truly shines in the aforementioned Awakening.

All that being said, don’t let our dear Yannis be the only one put up on a pedestal; drummer Stergios Kourou is insane. His groves are virtually unmatched and his technical ability is nothing short of incredible. Additionally, Kosta Vreto’s finger-styled axemanship makes for some nasty facemelters.

Wardrum – Let The Flames Grow (Steel Gallery Records)

Burning Point – Nitte Valo (Battle Beast)

Nitte Valo (ex-vocalist of Battle Beast(Wow. What a horrible fucking mistake leaving THAT was!)) has only been with Burning point since 2014 to see the release of their two latest albums. It’s no worry, however, because she fits right in. Her epic, robust voice complements the old school riffage of the band.

Coincidentally, Burning Point’s five albums prior to Nitte’s arrival were, well, simply nothing special. It seems as though she brought with her a new energy and finesse that fortified the band and made it into something respectable.

Burning Point – The King Is Dead, Long Live The King (AFM Records)

ReVamp – Floor Jansen (Nightwish)

In between her first band, After Forever, and her entry into Nightwish, Floor Jansen founded ReVamp: a proggy symphonic band with her usual gothic feel.

Both albums feature a slew of feature musicians, such as Mark Jansen (Epica), Devin Townsend, Koen Herfst (I Chaos), and Joost Van der Broek, who was the keyboardist of After Forever. 

Jansen suffered a burnout between the release of ReVamps only two albums. Possibly as a result of her negative emotions, the second and final album, Wild Card, came with a far heavier feel.

ReVamp – The Trial of Monsters (Nuclear Blast)

I Am I – ZP Theart (DragonForce)

Power Metal Vocalist Supreme ZP Theart left DragonForce after seeing the release of four albums in 2010 due to insurmountable musical differences with the band. This decision makes blinding sense when you listen to ZP’s shortlived solo project, I Am I.

I Am I throws the over-the-top hopeful fantasy lyrics of DragonForce into a dark pit of despair and completely abandons the sound and tone that we grew to associate with ZP himself. I Am I’s lone album, Event Horizon, is a deeper, more meaningful, and less entertaining musical journey that delivers a heavier sound (and a total of zero five-minute guitar solos).

I Am I – Silent Genocide

CyHra – Jake E (Amaranthe)

Jake E left Amaranthe in 2017 to pursue music that was truer to himself. It’s easy to see why; compared to Amaranthe’s pop-tinged early work, their latest albums MAXIMALISM and Helix are doused in pop, often losing the essence of the sound that made their first three records so great.

CyHra more than makes up for the inevitability of Amaranthe’s popifying. The debut album, Letters to Myself, was released later in 2017 and was an instant hit with critics and fans alike. It’s grooves are more advanced, the balance of electronic to physical instruments is perfect, and Jake E’s soaring timbre is as strong as ever.

Besides Jake E, CyHra is comprised of ex-In Flames guitarist Jesper Strömblad, drummer Alex Landenburg (Angels Cry, ex-Annihilator), and guitarist Euge Valovirta (ex-Shining ). With dynamic music and a variable setlist, CyHras debut has left everybody eagerly waiting for more.

CyHra – Heartrage (Spinefarm Records)


Here’s some extra cheese from the previously-mentioned

Hell In The Club – I Wanna Swing Like Peter Parker (Frontier Records)

If you want to be notified every time PowerThorn publishes a review or article, you can subscribe to the blog or go like the >>Facebook Page<<!
For all the same (but mostly memes), >>@PowerThorn<< on Instagram is exactly what you need.

Stay Metal \m/